|Nutritional Guidelines (per serving)|
These vegan brownies are always a hit with kids and adults alike. Whether you're on a vegan diet, going dairy-free because of lactose intolerance or cutting out dairy for other health reasons, these will give you the chocolate fix you've been waiting on. The recipe uses bananas instead of eggs. To change up the recipe from time to time, feel free to add 1 teaspoon of rum extract in place of the vanilla.
Storing Vegan Dairy-Free Banana Brownies
If you're looking to keep the brownies for a short period of time, whether for a bake sale item for your child's school or packing lunches, you can store the leftovers in an air-tight container separated by wax paper and layer each brownie on top of the other. In this manner, they will keep for about a week.
If you'd like to store them longer, freeze them in a freezer bag after wrapping them each individually. You'll need to thaw them overnight at room temperature or microwave them before serving them up again. They will keep anywhere from 2 weeks up to 3 months frozen.
Makes one 9 x 13-inch pan of brownies
- 2 cups all-purpose flour
- 2 cups white sugar (granulated or unrefined cane sugar)
- 3/4 cups unsweetened cocoa powder
- 1 teaspoon baking powder
- 1 teaspoon salt
- 1 cup bananas (ripe, mashed)
- 1/4 cup unsweetened soy milk (or almond milk)
- 1/4 cup canola oil
- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
- 1 cup dark dairy-free chocolate chips
Gather the ingredients.
Preheat the oven to 350 F. Lightly oil a 9 x 13-inch baking dish and set aside.
In another small mixing bowl, combine the mashed bananas, soy milk, canola oil and vanilla extract.
Add the wet ingredients to the dry, mixing until just combined.
Fold in the dairy-free chocolate chips.
Pour the batter into the prepared pan.
Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center emerges clean.
Allow brownies to cool completely on a wire cooling rack before cutting into squares and serving.
Serve and enjoy!
**This recipe is suitable for dairy-free, egg-free, and vegan but as with any recipe intended for persons with allergies or dietary restrictions, make sure to read all nutritional labels carefully to make sure that there are no hidden dairy-derived ingredients (or gluten, egg, or wheat ingredients, if these apply to you).