Can Vegans Drink Beer and Wine?

Yes, With This Handy Guide

Friends toasting with drinks at countryside rustic cottage
wundervisuals / Getty Images

If you're a dedicated vegan and are choosing to rid your diet of animal foods, have you thought about what goes into the alcohol you drink? Many beers and wines are refined using a product called isinglass, which comes from fish or may be filtered with bone char. While it may be easy to spot the worm in a bottle of tequila, determining which beers and wines are strictly vegan is another chore! In general, organic wines are usually vegan, and beers made in Germany, where there are strict laws regarding ingredients, will be vegan-friendly. Other than that, our friends over at TasteBetter.com have put together this handy guide to vegetarian and vegan beers, wines and liquors. Bottoms up!

Vegan Wine, Beer, and Spirits Recipes:

  • Tequila Flavored Portobella Mushrooms
  • White Wine Risotto
  • Sugar-free Chocolate Rum Cookies
  • Happy Irish Beer Bread
  • Grilled Pineapple with Coconut and Rum
  • Crockpot Rice Pilaf with White Wine
  • Lotus, Nori and Red Wine Salad