Dairy-Free Macaroni & Cheese (Vegan)

Macaroni and Cheese in Bowl
James And James / Getty Images
Prep: 15 mins
Cook: 10 mins
Total: 25 mins
Servings: 2 servings
Nutritional Guidelines (per serving)
384 Calories
11g Fat
59g Carbs
11g Protein
See Full Nutritional Guidelines Hide Full Nutritional Guidelines
Nutrition Facts
Servings: 2
Amount per serving
Calories 384
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 11g 15%
Saturated Fat 2g 11%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 960mg 42%
Total Carbohydrate 59g 22%
Dietary Fiber 9g 31%
Protein 11g
Calcium 234mg 18%
*The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a food serving contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice.
(Nutrition information is calculated using an ingredient database and should be considered an estimate.)

Macaroni and cheese is a meal that many of us have grown up with and often associate with childhood. Creamy and comforting, this dairy-free version of the classic kids' meal uses nutritional yeast, soy milk, and tahini to achieve the richness and flavor of the traditional cheese sauce without the saturated fat and cholesterol of dairy.


  • 4 oz. elbow macaroni
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbsp. flour
  • 2 tbsp. vegetable broth powder
  • 1 cup dairy-free soy milk (use one that has a thickening agent added, like Silk)
  • 2 tbsp. water
  • 1 tbsp. tahini (also called sesame paste)
  • Salt, to taste

Steps to Make It

  1. Boil about 3 cups of water in a small stockpot. Add elbow macaroni and cook until al dente, about 7 minutes. Drain in a colander and set aside.

  2. Combine nutritional yeast, flour, and vegetable broth powder in a small saucepan, mixing together until combined. Add soymilk, water, and tahini, and turn on heat to medium-low, mixing until all the powder is dissolved and the sauce is smooth. Heat until just thickened and warm, about 2 to 3 minutes. Turn off heat and add salt to taste.

  3. Add cooked macaroni to ​saucepan, coating pasta well. Divide mixture into two bowls and serve warm.


This recipe is suitable for dairy-free, vegan, vegetarian, egg-free, and lactose-free diets, but as with any recipe intended for persons with allergies or dietary restrictions, make sure to read all nutritional labels carefully to make sure that there are no hidden dairy-derived ingredients (or other allergens, if these apply to you).