Delicious Dairy-Free Pecan Pie

Pecan Pie
KirbyIng / Getty Images
Prep: 15 mins
Cook: 40 mins
Total: 55 mins
Servings: 8 servings

Pecan pie is just one of the assorted favorites that folks love to make to accompany holiday dinners. However, it often gets pushed aside in favor of pumpkin or apple varieties, so why not make a delicious pecan pie during another time of the year?

Whether you're vegan or lactose-intolerant, a dairy-free pecan pie is easy to mix up with a few tweaks to a traditional recipe. Start with the recipe for dairy-free pie dough or pick up a store-bought dairy-free crust to hold a homemade filling.


  • 1 recipe dairy-free pie dough
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons almond milk
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/3 cup soy margarine (melted)
  • 1 1/2 cup pecans (chopped)
  • Egg white, for brushing
  • Granulated white sugar, for sprinkling

Steps to Make It

  1. Gather the ingredients.

  2. Preheat the oven to 400 F. Lightly grease a 9-inch pie plate.

  3. Roll out the prepared dairy-free pie crust, and fit it into the pan.

  4. Brush the crust with egg white and sprinkle with sugar. Place the pie plate in the refrigerator while preparing the filling.

  5. Prepare the filling. In a small cup or bowl, mix together the flour and dairy-free milk substitute until smooth. Mix in vanilla and set aside.

  6. In a medium-sized mixing bowl, beat the eggs until pale yellow and frothy.

  7. Add the sugars and melted soy margarine and whisk until well combined.

  8. Add the flour mixture and pecans, mixing until evenly incorporated.

  9. Pour the filling into the prepared pie crust. Bake for 5 minutes at 400 F, then reduce the oven temperature to 350 F and continue baking for about 35 to 40 minutes or until the middle is no longer liquid (it should still jiggle but just slightly).

  10. Allow pie to cool completely on a wire cooling rack before slicing and serving. Serve cold or at room temperature.


  • This recipe is suitable for dairy-free and lactose-free diets but as with any recipe intended for persons with allergies or dietary restrictions, make sure to read all nutritional labels carefully to make sure that there are no hidden dairy-derived ingredients (or other allergens, if these apply to you).
  • If you prefer to arrange whole pecans on the top of the pie, the nuts can be substituted at a 1-to-1 ratio—that is, 1 cup of whole pecans equals 1 cup of chopped pecans.
  • Use any type of dairy-free milk in this recipe, such as soy, rice, cashew, or coconut milk.
  • Shield the crusts from browning too quickly in the oven by folding aluminum foil over it.
  • Put a baking sheet in the oven as it preheats. Bake the pie on the baking sheet on the lowest rack, which will help the bottom of the crust firm up.

Recipe Variations

  • Vegan variation: Replace the eggs with 1 cup of silken tofu and 2 tablespoons of cornstarch, which will help set the filling.
  • Gluten-free variation: Substitute a gluten-free flour blend, almond flour, or rice flour for the all-purpose flour that's used in the crust recipe.