If you're looking to up the taste factor on those plain steamed vegetables or looking for a new way to get kids to eat their broccoli, consider making this easy gluten-free cheese sauce recipe.
Cheese sauce starts out as béchamel or "white sauce." Béchamel sauce is made from three simple ingredients: flour, butter, and milk or cream.
This gluten-free version starts with butter and amaranth flour. In just a few minutes, you have an incredibly rich, creamy gluten-free cheese sauce.
Once paste forms from the melted butter, amaranth flour and milk or dairy-free milk are whisked in to create a smooth sauce. Last, comes the combination of cheeses and seasonings that turn the smooth liquid into a creamy sauce.
Parmesan and Swiss are used in this recipe, but you can certainly use your choice of cheese instead. Cheddar is a delicious cheese to try and will make a rocking nacho cheese sauce.
Trying to get someone to eat their greens at dinner? Add this gluten-free cheese sauce and watch the broccoli disappear. Serve with gluten-free tortilla chips for instant nachos on game day or at your next party.
Melt butter in a heavy saucepan over medium-low heat.
Whisk in amaranth flour and stir until bubbly paste forms. Cook for 2 minutes. Be cautious not to let the mixture brown.
Add milk or dairy-free substitute and whisk until the sauce is smooth and thick. Bring just to a slow bubbly boil then remove from heat.
Add grated cheeses and gluten-free seasonings and stir until the cheeses melt and the sauce is smooth and creamy.
Serve warm on fresh steamed vegetables or gluten-free pasta.
- Substitute your favorite cheeses in this recipe. Cheddar cheese sauce is one of my favorites.
- This is not a dairy-free recipe, but you can reduce the amount of dairy by substituting dairy-free milk like canned organic light coconut milk.
- Always make sure your work surfaces, utensils, pans and tools are free of gluten. Don't forget to read product labels and manufacturers can change product formulations without notice. When in doubt, do not buy or use a product before contacting the manufacturer for verification that the product is free of gluten.