Gluten-Free Nacho Cheese Dip

Gluten-free nacho cheese dip
Cheesy, spicy gluten-free nacho cheese dip and tortilla chips

Istetiana/Getty Images

Prep: 5 mins
Cook: 5 mins
Total: 10 mins
Servings: 6 servings
Nutrition Facts (per serving)
85 Calories
6g Fat
5g Carbs
3g Protein
Show Full Nutrition Label Hide Full Nutrition Label
Nutrition Facts
Servings: 6
Amount per serving
Calories 85
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 6g 8%
Saturated Fat 4g 18%
Cholesterol 17mg 6%
Sodium 189mg 8%
Total Carbohydrate 5g 2%
Dietary Fiber 0g 1%
Total Sugars 2g
Protein 3g
Vitamin C 1mg 4%
Calcium 88mg 7%
Iron 0mg 1%
Potassium 91mg 2%
*The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a food serving contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice.
(Nutrition information is calculated using an ingredient database and should be considered an estimate.)

This cheesy, spicy gluten-free nacho cheese dip recipe is thickened with amaranth. Many store brands are thickened with gluten, making them inedible for people with gluten sensitivities or allergies. This dip is also seasoned with homemade gluten-free taco seasoning. Serve this dip warm with gluten-free tortilla chips for a great half-time, or anytime, snack.

If you are serving this for a crowd, do let them know that it's a gluten-free recipe, but not dairy-free. If you want to make this dip dairy-free, you can substitute the milk for your favorite dairy-free milk substitute, as long as it is unsweetened. You can also substitute the cheddar cheese for dairy-free cheese and the butter for olive oil or margarine. Follow the recipe as is and stir it until a smooth consistency is reached.

The recipe calls for amaranth flour or sweet rice flour. These ingredients are common flour substitutes and can be found in the baking or organic foods aisle of most grocery stores. If you can't find them there, try a health food store or order the ingredients online.


  • 2 tablespoons amaranth flour, or sweet rice flour

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, or olive oil

  • 1 cup milk, or nondairy substitute

  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons gluten-free taco seasoning

  • 1/4 teaspoon gluten-free garlic powder

  • 1/4 teaspoon gluten-free onion powder

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste

  • 2 teaspoons finely diced jalapeño peppers, or to taste

Steps to Make It

  1. Melt butter in a heavy saucepan on medium-low heat. Whisk in amaranth flour and stir until a bubbly paste forms. Cook for two minutes, being careful not to let the mixture brown.

  2. Add milk or dairy free substitute and whisk until the sauce is smooth and thick. Bring just to a slow bubbly boil and remove from heat.

  3. Add grated cheeses, garlic powder, onion powder, gluten-free taco seasoning, and jalapeños. Stir until the cheese melts and the sauce is smooth and creamy.

  4. Serve warm with gluten-free tortilla chips.


  • Make your own gluten-free taco seasoning with this recipe. It is just as tasty as a store-bought seasoning and you'll know it's gluten-free. When cooking gluten-free, always make sure your work surfaces, utensils, pans, and tools are free of gluten. Always read product labels. Manufacturers can change product formulations without notice. When in doubt, do not buy or use a product before contacting the manufacturer for verification that the product is free of gluten. If you are taking the time to cook the food, it's worth it to make a quick call.

Recipe Variations

  • Feel free to substitute your favorite cheeses in this recipe. Pepper jack cheese would be especially good for a dip. Another option to make this dairy-free is to use canned organic light coconut milk with good results. It will change the flavor profile a bit, but will still be tasty. If you make the dip ahead of time and refrigerate it, simply reheat before serving. The best way to reheat it is over low heat on the stove top. You may need to add a small amount of milk or milk substitute to reconstitute this dip to a smooth consistency.