Vegan Yellow Cake Recipe

Sunday afternoon tea
Deborah Slater/Moment/Getty Images
Prep: 20 mins
Cook: 25 mins
Total: 45 mins
Servings: 8 servings
Nutrition Facts (per serving)
331 Calories
22g Fat
29g Carbs
5g Protein
Show Full Nutrition Label Hide Full Nutrition Label
Nutrition Facts
Servings: 8
Amount per serving
Calories 331
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 22g 28%
Saturated Fat 11g 57%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 471mg 20%
Total Carbohydrate 29g 11%
Dietary Fiber 1g 3%
Total Sugars 4g
Protein 5g
Vitamin C 0mg 2%
Calcium 20mg 2%
Iron 2mg 13%
Potassium 150mg 3%
*The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a food serving contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice.
(Nutrition information is calculated using an ingredient database and should be considered an estimate.)

For birthdays, holidays, potlucks, and everyday celebrations, this vegan yellow cake is a great go-to dessert, and it goes well with a variety of dairy-free frostings, from Dairy-Free Buttercream Frosting to Vegan Chocolate Frosting.

Makes one 8" layer cake or one 9"x13" sheet cake. Look for dairy-free soy sour cream from companies such as Tofutti.


  • 4 ounces (1/2 cup) soy margarine

  • 1 1/2 cups plus 1 tablespoon white granulated sugar

  • 8 ounces dairy-free soy sour cream

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice

  • 1/4 cup powdered egg substitute

  • 1/3 cup warm water

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 3/4 cup full-fat coconut milk

Steps to Make It

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F. Lightly oil and flour two 8" spring-form pans and set aside.

  2. In a large mixing bowl, use an electric mixer to beat the dairy-free soy margarine until creamy. Add the sugar and beat for an additional 3-4 minutes, or until the mixture is aerated and fluffy. Add the soy sour cream, vanilla, and lemon juice. In a separate bowl, whisk the powdered egg replacer with 1/3 cup warm water, until gooey, and add it to the batter. Beat until smooth and creamy. Set aside.

  3. In another mixing bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet in several additions, alternating with the coconut milk, until all of the ingredients have been added. Pour the batter into the prepared pans, dividing the batter evenly between the two pans. Bake for 22-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center emerges clean. Cool the cakes in the pan for 10 minutes on a wire cooling rack, then run a lightly oiled knife around the edges to loosen the cakes from the pans. Allow the cakes to cool completely before removing from pans and layering with dairy-free frosting of your choice.​

​**This recipe is suitable for dairy-free, egg-free,and vegan diets, but as with any recipe intended for persons with allergies or dietary restrictions, make sure to read all nutritional labels carefully to make sure that there are no hidden dairy-derived ingredients (or other allergens, if these apply to you).