|Nutrition Facts (per serving)|
|Amount per serving|
|% Daily Value*|
|Total Fat 13g||17%|
|Saturated Fat 2g||9%|
|Total Carbohydrate 12g||5%|
|Dietary Fiber 2g||8%|
|Total Sugars 5g|
|Vitamin C 11mg||56%|
|*The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a food serving contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice.|
This is a quick and easy Japanese vegetable miso soup recipe. It's made both completely vegetarian and vegan and filled with plenty of vegetables including shiitake mushrooms, leek, tomatoes, green onions (scallions) and tofu, along with the usual Japanese miso soup ingredients, including sesame oil, vegetable broth, soy sauce, and, of course, miso!
Even though it's filled with veggies, this is still a very light soup, so it makes a good starter or a warming afternoon snack, or, if you wanted to make it more of a meal, you could round it out with some Asian noodles. Either soba or udon noodles would be best, or even ramen-style noodles, to keep it Japanese themed. Try miso ramen Japanese soup.
2 cups diced tomatoes
1/4 cup sesame oil
1 leek, sliced
1 1/2 cups sliced shiitake mushrooms
6 cups vegetable broth
2 tablespoons diced wakame seaweed, or other seaweed
1 block silken tofu, cubed
1 tablespoon soy sauce
3 tablespoons miso
2 scallions, or green onions, sliced
In a large pot, sauté the tomatoes, leek, and mushroom for 1 to 3 minutes.
Add the vegetable broth and seaweed and bring to a slow simmer. Add the tofu, soy sauce (or the gluten-free tamari or Nama Shoyu if you're doing the gluten-free version), and the miso and scallions and reduce the heat to low.
Stir well to dissolve and mix the miso.
Allow to cook for at least 8 more minutes over low heat.
- Miso shouldn't ever be boiled, just gently heated, in order to preserve its healthy probiotic and fermented properties, so make sure that your soup is gently heating and not simmering.
- How to make this recipe gluten-free: This recipe as is is both vegetarian and vegan. Need it to be gluten-free too? First, check your miso, as some kinds are made with added grains, such as barley miso, for example, which is definitely not gluten-free, though traditional miso is made with soybeans and is safe for gluten sensitivities. Next, check your vegetable broth. Most store-bought brands contain gluten unless they're specifically labeled as gluten-free, so read the label, or make your own homemade vegetable broth. And finally, you'll have to swap out the soy sauce for a gluten-free substitute. In this miso soup, you'll want the stronger flavors of the tamari or the Nama Shoyu sauce.