Veganism is a type of vegetarian diet that excludes meat, eggs, dairy products, and all other animal-derived ingredients. Many vegans also do not eat foods that are processed using animal products, such as refined white sugar and some wines.
Vegan refers to either a person who follows this way of eating or to the diet itself. That is, the word vegan can be an adjective used to describe a food item, as in, "This curry is vegan", or, it can be used as a noun, as in, "Vegans like cookies, too."
Beyond Just Food
Although there is some debate as to whether certain foods, such as honey, fit into a vegan diet, if you are cooking for other vegans, it is best to err on the side of caution and avoid these foods or ask your guests. Most vegans extend the definition of veganism to go beyond just food. Vegans will also likely avoid the use of all personal and household products tested on animals and avoid purchasing and using all animal-derived, non-food products, such as leather, fur, and wool. There is some debate as to whether second-hand animal products, such as a leather jacket from a thrift store, can be included in a cruelty-free vegan lifestyle or not.
Watch Now: What Do Vegans Eat?
What Do Vegans Eat?
This is perhaps the most common question about veganism. A vegan diet includes all grains, beans, legumes, vegetables, fruits, and the nearly infinite number of foods made by combining them.
In addition, many vegan versions of familiar foods are available, so vegans can eat vegan hot dogs, ice cream, cheese, non-dairy yogurt, and vegan mayonnaise along with the more familiar veggie burgers and other meat substitute products like vegan chicken recipes. Many foods are associated with veganism, such as soy milk, non-dairy milk substitutes, nutritional yeast, and tofu, as well as hemp tofu, which is made completely from hemp seeds, and is less processed than its soybean alternative. You certainly don't have to like tofu in order to eat vegan and you can enjoy any of these foods without being vegan.
Fermented foods are also popular in a vegan diet. Tempeh is a fermented soybean product also comes in a sprouted version that is, very much, considered a whole food and a good replacement for tofu. Also allowed, and encouraged, in vegan diets are other fermented products like miso, kimchi, and sauerkraut. And for seasoning,
Vegans also eat many of the same common and familiar everyday foods that everyone else does, such as a green salad, spaghetti, peanut butter sandwiches, cornbread, and chips and salsa. For example, foods such as a vegetarian burrito without cheese or sour cream would be vegan. A vegetarian Thai curry made from coconut milk is vegan. Egg-free pasta with tomato sauce or another non-meat and non-dairy sauce is vegan. Most bread is vegan as well.
How To Become Vegan
Some people easily go from eating meat to vegan right away, while others struggle with their new commitment. Others may choose to go vegetarian first and then slowly omit eggs and dairy. There's no right or wrong way to do it, but you may want to learn about what's worked for other people. Whatever way you do it, keep your goals in mind and remember why you are choosing to adopt a vegan diet.